TrainWreckRecovery

1 part therapy + 2 parts wine

Just Keep Swimming

Image+

Except it turns out that I can’t swim. Well not in the ‘I’m going to drown’ kind of way, but more in the ‘I’m so fucking out of shape I can barely make one lap in the pool without wheezing like a chain-smoking walrus” way.

It was a pathetic attempt at working out. 

I was bummed. I’d spent a ton of money on a new swimsuit that didn’t make me feel like a fat walrus (mostly) as well as new goggles and a not so pretty swim cap (gotta protect the highlights!). I’d shaved my legs and worked up the courage to go out in public in spandex. 

And then I sucked. Hard.

So I got out of the pool. Spent some time in the hot tub and then the steam room (which made me super claustrophobic but was also kinda relaxing) and decided when I go back tomorrow I’ll take one of those handy dandy kick-boards.

I’ve been MIA the last few days because they have SUCKED. I’ve been all over the place emotionally. Thank you lady hormones! I’ve been having more and more panic attacks, haven’t slept more than an hour or two each night for the last 4 days, and I somehow just noticed that I’m out (and have been for 2 weeks) my anxiety meds. I also gained a pound this week. I am not amused. I’m ready for things to get better again.  I have an appt w/my doc on Thursday so hopefully I’ll be back and feeling great by the end of the week.

So today wasn’t my best. Though I managed to do ok calories wise even with the Super Bowl goodies at my sisters house.

I’m now enjoying lots of wine and looking forward to a new day.

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Just Keep Swimming

  1. blueviking on said:

    I’m in a similar boat, so to speak, when it comes to swimming. I never learned to swim properly and it takes so much effort to keep my head above water to make it back and forth a couple laps in the pool. I just get too winded and have to stop. I think you might have the right idea with that kick-board.

    Remember, “lots” of wine has lots of calories… 😉 (though it certainly is nice to have a glass now and then.

  2. Swimming is hard work. I find even when I work out consistently at other things and feel like I’m in decent shape I still don’t have the stamina it takes to swim. I agree the kickboard may help.

Leave a Reply

